Facts attached to the digit seven.

The number 7 represents 7 days in a week.
There are 7 colours in a rainbow-VIGBYOR.
The seven musical notes in Indian carnatic
music are-Sa, Ri,Ga, Ma,Pa, Da, Ni.
Surya, the sun god rides on a chariot,
yoked by 7 horses, each corresponding to a
particular colour, energy and day in the week.
With 7 colours, several different colours can
be obtained.
There are 7 major chakras(energy centers) along
spinal chord and each chakra has a particular
colour.The Root chakra is governed by Red energy
(vitality, courage, self confidence.)
The Hara chakra is governed by Orange energy
(Happiness, confidence, resourcefulness)
The solar plexus chakra is governed by the
Yellow energy.(wisdom, clarity, self esteem)
The heart chakra is governed by the Green energy.
(compassion, love, self control)
The throat chakra is governed by the Blue energy.
(knowledge, health, decisiveness)
The third eye chakra is governed by the Indigo
energy.(intuition, mysticism,understanding)
The crown chakra is governed by Violet energy.
(beauty,creativity, inspiration)
Hindu marriage is consecrated only after the
newly married couple walk 7 steps together around
the fire according to tradition.Once married, the
marriage bond between the couple lasts for 7 lives.
The Mundaka upanishad refers to 7 tongues or
flames of Agni(fire), which are-Kali(black),karali
(fierce),manojava(swift as mind),sulohita(red as iron)
sudhumra varna(smoke coloured), viswarupi devi
(universally pleasing),and sphulingini(cracking).
They correspond to the 7 dhatus of human body and
7 energies that awaken during our spiritual practice.
7 sins are-lust, gluttony,greed, sloth, wrath,envy
and pride.
7 virtues are-chastity,temperance,charity,diligence,
kindness, patience and humility.
7 Great sages are-Mareechi,Athri,Angeerasa,Pulastya,
Pulaha, Krutu and Vasishta.
7 Holy seas are-Lavana Samudra,Ikshu Samudra,Sura
Samudra, Sarpi(Ghrutha=Ghee) Samudra,Dadhi(curd)Samudra,
Ksheera(milk)Samudra,Shuddhodaka(clean water)Samudra.
7 Holy rivers are-
Ganga,Yamuna,Saraswati,Godavari,Narmada,Sindhu and Kaveri.
In the Universe, we have 14 worlds(7 above including the
earth and 7 below the earth)
Worlds below the earth are-Athala, Vithala,Suthala,
Rasathala,Thalaathala,Mahaathala and Pathaala.
Worlds above the Earth are–Bhoo(Earth) Loka, Bhuvar Loka,
Svarloka, Mahar Loka,Jana Loka, Tapo Loka and Satya Loka
7 continents of the world are-Asia, Africa, North
America,South America,Europe, Australia and Antarctica.
7 wonders of the ancient world-Great Pyramid of Giza,
Hanging Gardens of Babylon, Temple of Artemis at Ephesus,
Statue of Zeus at Olympia, Mausoleum of Mausolus,
Colossus of Rhodes, Lighthouse of Alexandria.
7 was considered a god number in ancient Egypt.
7 is the most sacred number to the Hebrews.
There are 7 things that the Lord hates(Proverbs
6:16-19) or the Bible sins are-
1.Haughty eyes.
2.A lying tongue.
3.Hands that shed innocent blood.
4.A heart that devises wicked schemes.
5.Feet that are quick to rush into evil.
6.A false witness who pours out lies.
7.A person who stir up conflict in the community.
Johannam is the quranic word for hell.
The Johannam has 7 gates and 7 layers.
Sinners (the followers of Iblis, the devil) are
sent to different layers according to their sins.
Aqiqa is a Muslim custom. When the new born child
is 7 days old, the hair is shaved off and child
is given a name.
According to Hadith of prophet Mohammed 7 sins are-
3.Consuming riba,
4.To kill the life which Allah has forbidden except
for a just cause.
5.To eat up an orphan’s wealth.
6.To escape from the battles.
7.Slandering the chaste woman.
There are 7 verses in the first chapter in the Quran.
The 7 heavens in Islam are-
God has sent the Angel Gabriel to reveal the story of
the 7 sleepers to Muhammed.
In the Quran’s chapter 18, we can read about the
seven sleepers as told by Muhammed.
During the rituals of Hajj, the pilgrimage to Mecca,
pilgrims walk around the Kaaba, 7 times.
Pilgrims walk/run between Mount Safa and Mount Marwah
7 times.
Pilgrims are also required to throw 7 pebbles at each
of the 3 walls, representing the devil. The stoning of
the devil is performed at Mina, just outside of Mecca.
The number 7 in the Bible represents divine perfection.
God spends 6 days in creating the earth and
rested on the 7th day.
There were 7 trumpets announcing judgements by God
in the Book of Revelation.
God designed the 7 Feasts to accomplish a variety of
No animal could be sacrificed until it was 7 days old.
A cluster of 7 stars,also known as Great Bear
7 Sages or wise men of Greece are-
Cleobulus of Lindos,Solon of Athens,Chilon of Sparta,
Bias of Priene, Thales of Miletus, Pittacus of Mytilene
and Periander of Corinth.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s