Value of the number 108.

Chinese astrology says that there are 108 sacred stars.

The Chinese Buddhists and Taoists use a 108 beads mala

(chain), which is called su-chu and has 3 dividing beads

so the mala is divided  into 3 parts of 36 each.

The Sikh tradition has a mala of 108 knots tied in a

string of wool, rather than beads.

The first manned space flight lasted 108 minutes and was

on April 12, 1961 by Yuri Gagarin, a Soviet  cosmonaut.

There are 108 forms of dance in the Indian tradition.

Atman (human soul) goes through 108 stages on its journey.

In Islam, the number 108 refers to God.

In Astrology, silver represents the moon; the atomic

weight of silver is 108. The styles of meditation are 108.

There are 108 paths to reach God.

Tantra estimates  the average number of  breaths  per day

is 21,600 of which 10,800 are solar energy and 10,800 are

lunar energy.

The diameter of the Sun is 108 times the diameter of the Earth.

The distance from the sun to the earth is 108 times the diameter

of the sun. The average distance of the moon from the earth is

108 times the distance of the diameter of the moon.

The sacred river Ganga spans a longitude of 12 degrees(79 to 91)

and a latitude of 9 degrees(22 to 31). 12 times 9 equals 108.

There are 108 Hindu deities and each of the deities has 108 names.

In the Krishna tradition, there are 108 gopis who are devotees of

Lord Krishna.

In the number 108, 1 stands for Almighty or higher Truth;

0 stands for emptiness or completeness in spiritual practice;

and 8 stands for infinity or eternity.

In Sanskrit alphabet, there are 54 letters  Each has masculine

(Shiva) and feminine (Shakti). 54 times 2 is 108.

In doing practice of counting the number of repetitions of the

mala, 100 are counted as completed. The remaining are said to

cover omissions or errors and also said to be an offering to

God and guru.

There are 108  points that define the Sri Chakra as well as the

human body.

The angles formed by 2 adjacent lines in a pentagon equals

108 degrees. stations use radio waves with frequencies from

88.0 to 108MHz to broadcast their signals.

In astrology, there are 12 constellations and 9 arc segments

called namshas or chandrakalas. 9 times  12 equals 108.

(chandra is moon and kalas are divisions within a whole).

There are 108 beads in a rosary of the Buddhists and the

Jains also.

Mukhya Shivaganas are 108 in number and hence all Shiva sects

majorly Lingayats use 108 rudraksha beaded lace for Japa

(repetition of names or prayer)

Heart chakra (wheel) consists of 108 energy lines. One of them

sushumna leads to crown chakra and is said to be the path of Self


Astronomically there are 27 constellations in our galaxy and

each one of them has 4 directions and 27×4=108.In other words

the number 108 covers the whole galaxy. According to Indian

scriptures number 9 corresponds to Lord Brahma, the creator

of the universe. Indian Vedas treat the Sun as God and the Sun

has 12 signs(Zodiac signs). In Yajurveda Sun is related with Lord

Brahma. 12×9 =108. Therefore for God’s prayer the number 108

is sacred. The maximum number of times one should recite

Jap(Mantra) are 10,800. Jap Mala consists of 108 beads.

Performing Jap 108 times( 1 jap corresponds to 1 mala

which has 108 beads)will result in 100 percent benefit.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s