Sincere Prayer.

O, invisible, eternal, unchangeable Truth,

help me to pierce  the veil of the visible world, to reach You.

Let me not mistake fiction for facts.

Open my mind to the truth, wipe out all my prejudices.

O, Lord, give me Your leadership, so that I may act

according to Your Will. Show me what is right or wrong,

what is good and evil. Teach me the art of listening

to Your  inner voice speaking to me. Here welcome, O Lord,

”Just like a child who trusts his mother dear,

And who delights to feel her presence near,

Just like a child, so weak he cannot stand,

But who holds  firm and right his mother’s hand,

Just like a child whose mind has not a doubt,

And whose heart is never proud.”

O,  Lord, grant me to desire always what is most

acceptable to You; that Your  Will may be mine

and my Will  may be conformed to Your’s.

Do not bring me to the test but deliver me from evil.

O, Lord, look upon me as Your loving child.

I beg You to enlighten my mind and make me ever

pleasing to You.

Teach me the art of taking minute vacations–

of slowing down to look at a flower, to chat with a friend,

to pat a child, to read a few lines from a good book.

Give me amid the confusion of the day ,the calmness,

the calmness of the everlasting hills.

Slow me down, Lord.

Ease the pounding of my heart, by the quietening

of my mind. Break the tensions of my nerves and

muscles with the soothing music of the  singing

streams that flow in my heart. Help me to realise the

magical restoring power of sleep. Slow me down, Lord,

and inspire me to send my roots deep into the soil of my

life’s enduring values so  that I may grow towards the

stars of my greater destiny.

”Let Your best gift to me be that no desires shall

spring up in my heart, because the birth of these

wants sees the destruction of the senses, the mind,

virtue, intelligence, truth, modesty, power

and body.”

-Prayer by Prahlada, son of demon Hiranya Kashipu,

Source:Collection.

Leave a Reply

